[K-POP] Lee Da Hae : Tweets An Apology To Her Filipino Fans


There has been an uproar recently on the Internet after a Youtube clip of actress Lee Da Hae surfaced which showed her demonstrating how English was spoken in different countries.

The clip was from defunct KBS2TV variety show, “Sweet Night“, and it featured Lee Da Hae as one of the guests. Lee and her family had stayed in Sydney, Australia for five years, where she graduated from Burwood Girls High School, and thus she has a good command of English.
It was fine when Lee Da Hae was asked to demonstrate speaking English with American and British accents, but when asked to demonstrate how it would be like with a Filipino accent (according to the show’s graphics), Lee spoke in a way which sounded rather insulting, and it angered many Filipinos who got wind of the video.

Lee Da Hae herself got wind of this, and tweeted an apology on November 3rd:

“First I’d like to give you my sincere apologies for what seems to be a misunderstanding.

It has come to my attention that many of you from the Philippines have posted comments protesting that i was being derisive by mimicking Filipinos when they speak English.

Therefore, in light of this matter I’d like to take this opportunity to clear the air.
In spite of what many people believe, I myself did NOT mention anything about the Philippines or Filipino accent whilst on the TV show.

On the other hand, I recall bringing up Southeast Asia and not the Philippines and the subtitles were inserted when the show was being edited of which I was not aware of until it was aired.

The TV show where this footage was taken from was designed to amuse its audience and my sole purpose was to entertain the viewers by coming up with lighthearted stories.

Since the producer knows that i speak English he asked me if I could
share any episodes that touch upon the English language.

As we all know every country has a typical accent when its people speak English (including myself) so after giving it some thought, I came up with a few lines where I simply tried to compare different English accents: the somewhat rigid British accent and beginners in Southeast Asia whose English tends to be a little hard-edged. No pun or ridicule was intended.

As an individual who use to take English classes over the phone with a Filipino instructor, I give you my word that even the mere thought of mocking Filipinos would never cross my mind.
I cannot tell you how much Filipino fans mean to me and as much as I love them, I would in no way
hurt or upset them.

I hope I have clarified any misunderstandings and once again I am truly sorry if I inadvertently
hurt anyone’s feelings.

-i really love you, my Filipino fans…”

– @cherry4eva84

 

© @cherry4eva84 (source) + AKP + omonatheydidnt | Shared by ©HOTSPICYKIMCHI | Please copy complete credits. Don’t hotlink anything. – HOTSPICYKIMCHI ♔

Friendly Reminder: Please don’t hotlink images and do provide proper pingbacks to the site. A little token of appreciation can do wonders, you know. Peace, love, and GV. – ©HOTSPICYKIMCHI

 

OK. I am a Filipino and I can’t help but post this one not because I’m angered with Lee Da Hae. Instead, I posted it up because I really find it funny how some Filipinos are just plain blatant and immature. Why must you guys feel offended? Let’s face it. How Lee Da Hae channeled Filipinos speaking is exactly how Filipinos speak English in the Philippines.

So please, angry Flips. Let’s all take a rebreather, pause, and weigh down things before saying harsh things and judging the person. Let’s put the situation on another view. We joke about Koreans here too right? See? All, I’m saying is that this thing shouldn’t even be an issue in the first place.

So, please. Let’s all drop the case and move on.

We don’t need anymore hatred in this world. Let’s just spread the love. Peace, and GV.

– HOTSPICYKIMCHI ♔

4 responses to “[K-POP] Lee Da Hae : Tweets An Apology To Her Filipino Fans

  1. does this mean she is like a puppet in a show? she would do everything for money??? poor girl, come here in the Philippines i’ll give you money and i will put it on your mouth so you will shut it up for the rest of your life!

  2. oh my! hotspicykimchi ..How Lee Da Hae channeled Filipinos speaking is exactly how Filipinos speak English in the Philippines…excuse me?r u sure of it?..ur saying this bcoz ur nt n the philippine?so ur out of this matter?grrrrr

    • Hi.

      First things first. I am a Flip and 100% proud that I am.
      I live here in the Philippines eversince I was born and I remember not saying that I’m out of this matter.
      All I said was that we should move on from this issue and just leave our separate ways. 🙂

      And when I said that How Lee Da Hae channeled Filipinos speaking is exactly how Filipinos speak English in the Philippines. I only meant most. Not all. And for that statement, I am very sorry.

      But we must not be close-minded to this issue. Because doing so, would make us racists ourselves and everything would just be a cycle. Right? Walang katapusan na usapan ito, and nobody will come out as the winner of this issue.

      All I’m saying is that we should be wise, mature and open to the fact that every counrty has her own way, manner of things. And for them funny yung ginawa ni Lee Da Hae. I, for myself am not offended. Kasi, it’s true naman diba, ganun halos tayo magsalita.

      And I believe, that this way of speaking is the reason why Filipinos are endearing.

      And nag-post na nga si LDH ng public apology diba? So, I guess hindi naman mahirap to forgive her.

      We should not hold grudges kasi diba tayo nga, we also laugh at how Koreans talk. ^_^

      I honestly wrote my thoughts on this issue in a neutral state. No offense meant.

      I hope you understand my place, love. As much as I am trying to understand where you’re coming from.

      Thanks for commenting, anyway. 🙂

      Remember, we don’t need anymore hatred in this world. Let’s just spread the love. Peace, and GV.

      – ©HOTSPICYKIMCHI

  3. This is the first I have heard of what exactly happened with LDH or what she said.

    I am a Filipino and very proud I am. I don’t put much stock on how she inadvertently issued her “apology”. To me it didn’t feel like an apology to me. It only felt like she was being trite in giving excuses on why it happened. Well, whatever. I get how Filipinos are about being sensitive about their race eventhough we Flips have and probably will still make fun of other race/s. I think for the most part it angered a lot because for a country like ours where English is considered the second language, we as a whole are proud that we can speak and understand it. Even if we seem too sensitive as a race, I think we are entitled to be angry, even a little bit. It’s as much our right to express how we feel as it is her right to say whatever she wants about us after this incident.

Leave a Reply

